Cell format corrupted after insert

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jun 27, 2014 at 8:40 AM
Edited Jun 27, 2014 at 9:00 AM
Hi guys.

I have to say that Im very new to phpexcel.
First of all here is my simple code:
$objReader = PHPExcel_IOFactory::createReader('Excel2007');
$objPHPExcel = $objReader->load("exl/temp.xlsx");

$objPHPExcel->getActiveSheet()->setCellValue('B1', 'Juni.2014');
B1 gets "Juni.2014".
A1 is saved as "=B1" in my template with format "date.month".
A2 =A1+1
A3 =A1+2 and so on.

What should happen: The script inserts "Juni.2014" in B1 and the list under column A will get filled with every day of the inserted month (1.Jun. / 2.Jun. / 3.Jun).

But what really happens: When I insert Juni.2014 into B1, the cell A1 (=B1) shows up "Juni.2014" too. The saved format "day.month." gets corrupted.

When I open the result.xlsx excel shows up the right format for the cell A1, but its not working.
Even if I change the format to something else it wont change anything.

The script isnt even touching the cell A1, so why the hell isnt this working?
I hope this was clear enough.

Looking forward for your help.
Coordinator
Jun 27, 2014 at 9:47 AM
"Juni.2014" is nothing more than a string to PHPExcel, so it won't do anything clever at all.... what you say should happen requires a degree of intelligence, it need PHPExcel to recognise "Juni.2014" as a month and year with a dot separating them, and to automatically convert that to a MS Excel serialized datetime stamp..... it requires me as a developer to program that intelligence into PHPExcel, in 14 different languages..... and I'm afraid that neither PHPExcel nor I are that smart.

But PHPExcel is an open source project.... you're clearly familiar with languages that I don't use, so there's nothing to stop you recoding PHPExcel's date recognition rules so that it will recognise "Juni.2014" as a date and convert it to a MS Excel serialized datetime stamp and set a number format mask accordingly.