Form data send as file attachment

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Aug 7, 2013 at 8:09 AM
Hi guys,

I want to create a form that when submit button is clicked, the data automatically is sent to a formatted file in excel on my server.

Basically, I want to create a resume page and it needs to be in a pre-formatted style that will be used internally in the company...

I tried to find this topic in many places but couldn't find something that really gives me a good solution for this problem.

I'm brand new to php, so could someone help me on that please?

1 - User fill out the form

2 - Submit the form ---> creates Excel file (with pre-formatted style)

3 - Sends the file as attachment to my e-mail and server

I know it might be quite hard to solve that, but i really appreciate if you can give me some help.
Aug 7, 2013 at 12:12 PM
You can have a preformatted Excel file on your server (containing the styles, headers,... All that is fixed)
The script that receives the data (when the user clicks the submit button) can open this file, complete with data provided by the user and save it under another name.
Sending email is a subject well away from the use of PHPExcel, but your favorite search engine can give you thousands of responses: send an Excel file is exactly the same as any file.

To return to PHPExcel, the 07reader.php example shows you how to open an Excel file and how to save it. the 01simple.php sample shows you how to fill cells.
A bit works these aspects, then we will see which poses problem.
Mar 25, 2014 at 5:15 AM
Sorry, but i still didn't get that. I've been looking for an answer during this time but i couldn't find it.
Could you give me a more specific explanation?

Basically, I have these fields in my html form:

Photo (defined size)
Terms of agreement checkbox