ONE HUGE and one small bug

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Jun 4, 2011 at 10:21 AM

Since the email  maarten@phpexcel.net  was invalid I am copy-pasting the email here:

Dear Mr Maarten
Hello my name is George Pligor and I am a developer from Greece. I have benefited much from the project PHPExcel. In fact I made a small donation :) Although I am curious about why there is no change at the donation bar. It writes 870.00$ as the first time I checked your site..

Anyway I have two(2) bugs to mention:

Before I proceed I should mention that I apply PHPExcel on Excel5 (.xls) files. I should also mention that I would happily send you any information or files that could help you reproduce the problem and thus fix these bugs :)

Firstly there is some issue with the "calculations" function. I guess when there is some row or column full of a background color, or maybe full of borders the calculation crashes and the file is not loaded. So far I overcome this problem by using a "ReadFilter" which constraints the number of rows and specifies which columns to be read. But the problem remains when using an excel file with unknown number of rows or columns

Secondly and MOST importantly I would like to mention this bug: If you have =C5+B4 this is a reference to cells inside the same sheet. Then if you have =SHEETNAME!A10 then you have a reference to a cell in the specified sheet.
PHPExcel does NOT take into account the third option. REFERENCE TO ANOTHER .XLS FILE: 'C:\some_path\[some_excel_filename.xls]SHEETNAME'!A10
I guess you would have to load the other file and read the data. So far the loader crashes.

I would greatly appreciate If you could fix this. Is it possible to happen relatively soon? :)

Thank you and once more excellent work to all of the team of this project!

Coordinator
Jun 6, 2011 at 10:27 PM

Regarding your first problem: