Creating PDF with Japanese Character

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Oct 25, 2010 at 11:02 AM

Hello,

I am new with PHPExcel.

I am having trouble with Saving File as PDF with Japanese character.

I even tried

1. Setting the page font with "MS Mincho" .

2. Setting the cell font with "MS Mincho".

In both case I have got multiple box. But No Japanese Character. Can anyone suggest me about what I am missing?

Best Regards,

Johny

Coordinator
Oct 25, 2010 at 11:23 AM
PHPExcel uses tcPDF for generating PDF output from HTML, If you can
confirm that PHPExcel generates HTML output showing the correct
characters, then the problem is that tcPDF doesn't include MS Mincho.
I know that arialunicid0-japanese is included in the font distribution
with tcPDF, so you could always use that instead. Alternatively (I can't
read Japanese, so I can't say for certain) the following link seems to
describe how to add MS Mincho to tcPDF.

http://labs.mythos-jp.com/blog/archives/241

---
Mark Baker
Oct 27, 2010 at 3:56 AM

Mark Baker,

Thank you for your reply.

It had made the HTML very nice. More over  I have avoided the The font issue.

PHPExcel added UTF-8 character set automatically.

But Now the same issue how would I convert it from HTML to PDF or xls to PDF with proper character.

Please let me know

Oct 27, 2010 at 12:07 PM

well,

I have solved the problem. Even though the way i solved is very rough. Need to work more to get a proper solution.

To do so, I have followed the instruction given in

http://labs.mythos-jp.com/blog/archives/241

this link. This link is completely in Japanese. Trust me I dont understand Japanese either. I used google translator to understand it.

To do so, you will need several things.

1. The full font. Download it from internet(I googled MS Mincho. its size was 7.8 MB or something close)