Memory validation?

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
May 6, 2010 at 2:46 PM
Edited May 7, 2010 at 3:22 PM

PHP Version 5.3.0

Windows XP

PHPExcel version 1.7.2, 2010-01-11

Hi, first off, a warning: I am new to excel, let alone phpexcel. I just downloaded phpexcel today and I was looking through it and reading the test examples. I ran into an error when trying to load an excel template my company uses.

/** PHPExcel_IOFactory */
require_once '../Classes/PHPExcel/IOFactory.php';

if (!file_exists("Product_Add_Sheet2.xlsx")) {
    exit("We need the original to copy first.\n");

echo date('H:i:s') . " Load from Product add sheet\n";
$objPHPExcel = PHPExcel_IOFactory::load("Product_Add_Sheet2.xlsx");

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 71 bytes) in C:\xampp\htdocs\downloads\excel\Classes\PHPExcel\Worksheet.php on line 2380

The file does not contain much data it has 4 sheets, about a total of 50 columns between them, and only 2 rows of data.

Some of the columns have validation such as pulldown data and what not.

I am not sure why this is not working. Im not sure if this has anything to do with it but earlier I was trying to manually save the file in xml spreadsheet format I was given an error stating that it was password protected. Is that causing phpexcel to be unable to do its thing?

May 7, 2010 at 3:07 PM
Edited May 7, 2010 at 3:11 PM

So, despite knowing very little about excel, im trying to debug this...

I believe it is being caused by the drop down lists and other validations in the spreadsheet. I have traced the error to the data validations loop in the reader/excel2007.php file. When I print_r the data validation it returns:

SimpleXMLElement Object ( [@attributes] => Array ( [type] => list [allowBlank] => 1 [showInputMessage] => 1 [showErrorMessage] => 1 [sqref] => R16:R65536 ) [formula1] => Years )

It then goes through all of cells R16 - R65536 in the loop, running out of memory about half way.