Edit Spreadsheet without using memory

Topics: User Forum
Sep 22, 2013 at 2:06 PM
I am new to working with PHPExcel, but I have gotten to the point where I can create spreadsheets fresh and from CSV files. The issue that I am running into though is that I am trying to create rather large reports as Excel files that can be downloaded. The CSV data for these files, without the required formatting and formulas, can be over 50MB. Is there a way to create spreadsheets in the filesystem instead of in memory?
Sep 23, 2013 at 10:49 AM
You can minimize the need of memory for PHPExcel using different cache methods it offers.
See section 4.2.1 of the documentation for the implementation, see this topic: https://phpexcel.codeplex.com/discussions/234150?ProjectName=phpexcel to get an idea of earnings according to the methods.
Sep 23, 2013 at 2:11 PM
I tried doing this with the following code:
    // Initialize caching
    $cacheMethod = \PHPExcel_CachedObjectStorageFactory::cache_to_phpTemp;
    $cacheSettings = array('memoryCacheSize' => '32MB');
    \PHPExcel_Settings::setCacheStorageMethod($cacheMethod, $cacheSettings);

// Create the object
    $this->objPHPExcel = new \PHPExcel();
    $this->objPHPExcel->getProperties()->setCreator("VIP");
    $this->objPHPExcel->setActiveSheetIndex(0);
    $this->sheet = $this->objPHPExcel->getActiveSheet();
However, the script still runs out of memory when it reaches the 50mb max execution limit that I have set. Am I implementing the caching incorrectly?

The data in question can be output as CSV with no problem, so it seems to be the Excel methods that are using the memory.
Sep 23, 2013 at 3:25 PM
It seems correct, however, I would not define the memoryCacheSize with this high value: this value represents what php is allowed to store in memory before going to disk.
Note that the method using SQLite3 obtain the largest gain, if your configuration permits, did a test with it.