Installing and using

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jan 30, 2009 at 5:35 AM
complete noob here I want to creat a excel type spreed sheet using PHP on my website that is enteractive
Is that what this is I have a working excel spreed sheet just needs to be php so it will work on web
How do I install and exacute this I read the doc but ??? I very much a noob
Developer
Jan 30, 2009 at 9:30 AM
I believe you're asking whether PHPExcel offers a complete graphical interface like in Google Docs, I'm afraid it doesn't. I'm not even sure anyone has asked for this before!

Jan 31, 2009 at 7:23 AM

I don’t understand how to use PHPExcel the documentation doesnt seem to help or explain usage it like you already need to know how to use the information that is provided.

What I am looking to do is covert a excel worksheet into php and upload to my website; I would like it to be fictional just like if you were using excel. I have mysql DB if needed. I just don’t know how to use PHPExcel I’ve looked at some test files and when I click on one it say open or save I click open and it opens into excel on my PC. I don’t want to use excel locally because the people that will be using the file I create don’t have excel and would not understand it anyway so If it was on the website they would enter data certain thing would be calculated automatically with formulas like excel on save all the data would be saved then when the file was pulled up again all data and calculations would appear as they enter it.. The world could enter data and it would do the calculations and save it. Once the PHP file is up and running to that point I will use PHP to make a viewable only file to the world and a logon for those that are admin and can edit or enter data.

Developer
Jan 31, 2009 at 8:00 PM
What I would suggest is this:
  1. Create an ordinary form in HTML and present that to your users.