From Excel (xls/xlsx) to MySql Database

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Apr 25, 2013 at 11:14 AM
Edited Apr 25, 2013 at 11:19 AM
Hi,

I have an important project that requires XLS/XLSX files to be uploaded to Mysql Database. I stumbled upon PHPEXCEL and have been trying to write a script but without much success as I am new to PHPEXCEL.

If any one can suggest, guide me how to read and import Excel data to Mysql DB using PHPEXCEL I would be much obliged.

Thanks in advance.
Apr 25, 2013 at 1:32 PM
Hum... A small example easy, directly from the documentation (4.5.5):
<?php
$objReader = PHPExcel_IOFactory::createReader('Excel2007');
$objReader->setReadDataOnly(true);

$objPHPExcel = $objReader->load("test.xlsx");
$objWorksheet = $objPHPExcel->getActiveSheet();

$highestRow = $objWorksheet->getHighestRow(); // e.g. 10
$highestColumn = $objWorksheet->getHighestColumn(); // e.g 'F'

$highestColumnIndex = PHPExcel_Cell::columnIndexFromString($highestColumn); // e.g. 5

echo '<table>' . "\n";
for ($row = 1; $row <= $highestRow; ++$row) {
  echo '<tr>' . "\n";

for ($col = 0; $col <= $highestColumnIndex; ++$col) {
    echo '<td>' . $objWorksheet->getCellByColumnAndRow($col, $row)->getValue() . '</td>' . "\n";
  }

echo '</tr>' . "\n";
}
echo '</table>' . "\n";
?>
It shows the course of all cells in a worksheet, without the use of iterators. The contents of cells are displayed, but you can easily store it in a table instead.
The type of input file can be changed as needed (type known by a test or determined by the method PHPExcel_IOFactory identify() upstream).
Only data is read (setReadDataOnly), this reduces the resources needed but in return, certain data (date, time) are less easy to interpreted.
There are other ways to do, difficulties can appear, but rather than rewrite documentation - that is freely available for everyone - we will see those you'll be faced.
Apr 25, 2013 at 3:02 PM