Reading an Excel File from a Database and then Writing it

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Mar 2, 2012 at 8:48 PM
Edited Mar 2, 2012 at 8:56 PM

I am new to PHP EXCEL and my very first test is giving me grief.  Basically what I am doing is this:

1. Upload a spreadsheet to a database.  Spreadsheet is not huge.  it usually has less than 100 rows and around 60 columns.
  2. In a different routine, Spreadsheets are retrieved from the database and written to a cleverly named file directory called .... FILES.
  3. I have confirmed that the spreadsheet file retrieved from the database and written to the FILES directory is readable by EXCEL.
  4. After the spreadsheet file is written to the directory a fully qualified path+filename is presented to a function as a parameter. The function (code below) is supposed to
    • Open the file using PHPEXCEL
    • Do a bunch of audits and update the spreadsheet cells with error messages (ala the 15datavalidation.php example)
    • Then write the updated spreadsheet ala the 01simple-downlaod-xls.php example.That is, offer to open or download the newly named spreadsheet that contains the audits.

But here's the problem:  the file that is being written when openned by excel (a) generates the "the file you are trying to open ..." warning message, (b) when I open it anyway the file it contains three different kinds of information and is not at all a spreadsheet file:

• The stylesheet for the overall site (how did PHPEXCEL get this???)
  • What looks like the Excel bytecodes in the middle, and finally
  • A whole bunch of "undefined Offset errors" at the end.

I am stumped.  HELP!

Here is the routine that is supposed to read, audit, and write the spreadsheet. I have removed audits.

<?php
function auditSpreadsheet(&$theOutput,
                            $theDIRandFileName,    // The fully qualified filepath+filename of the spreadsheet retrieved from the DB and placed in a host directory
                            $SheetNum,