How to handle large files

Jan 4, 2011 at 7:52 AM

Hi

I am new to PHPExcel...

I have run tests on files up to 2MB and have had no troubles...

I now have a very large file - 10 MB, and growing

I have managed to load bits and bobs by $objReader->setLoadSheetsOnly($sheetname);

This works really well

However, when I need to set a cell value, then read the calculated value, I need to load most (probably all) sheets. PHP runs out of memory and the script fails.

I am wondering if adding LOADS of RAm would resolve the issue. If so, how much for a 10-15 MB file ?

Or is ther a coding solution ?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can provide info

Best

Jason

Coordinator
Jan 5, 2011 at 10:08 PM
Edited Jan 5, 2011 at 10:09 PM

Filesize doesn't have any real meaning: what matters more is the number of cells in the worksheets. My rule of thumb estimate is an average of 1k/cell.

A coding solution is to use cell caching. See the documentation for details. With cell caching, you can reduce that 1k/cell to about 300 bytes/cell; albeit at a cost in speed.

Jan 6, 2011 at 5:45 AM

Hi Mark

Thanks for the reply.

I have opted to exclude the heavy sheets when I can.

However, two worksheets with about 60,000 cells, come in at 1.5 MB each. They contain cells with ormulae like this

=IF(AND(AG1312<45),R1312,IF(AND(AG1312>=45,AG1312<100),S1312,IF(AND(AG1312>=100,AG1312<300),T1312,IF(AND(AG1312>=300,AG1312<500),U1312,IF(AND(AG1312>=500,AG1312<1000),V1312,W1312)))))

Two questions - am aussiming that sort of forumla adds loads of overhead to loading / calculating ?

When in Excel 2010, the cells return calculations fine, but in PHP Excel, I am getting a Fatal error: Call to a member function cellExists() on a non-object in /usr/lib/php/PHPExcel/PHPExcel/Calculation.php on line 3150